Faculty


Core Faculty

Core Faculty

Yinglong Miao

Yinglong Miao

Assistant Professor
miao@ku.edu
785-864-8298
Research: Biomolecular modeling, cellular signaling and computer-aided drug design

Joanna Slusky

Joanna Slusky

Associate Professor
slusky@ku.edu
785-864-6506
Research: Exploring membrane protein folding through protein design, bioinformatics, and molecular biology.

Ilya Vakser

Ilya Vakser

Director, Professor
vakser@ku.edu
785-864-1057
Research: ​Molecular Recognition in Structural Bioinformatics

Research Faculty

Research Faculty

Petras Kundrotas

Petras Kundrotas

Assistant Research Professor
pkundro@ku.edu
785-864-1962

Affiliate Faculty

Affiliate Faculty

Brian Ackley

Brian Ackley

Associate Professor
bdackley@ku.edu

Research: Interaction between neurons and their environment.

Kyle Camarda

Kyle Camarda

Associate Professor
camarda@ku.edu
Office Phone: 785-864-2908

Research: High-performance computing for design of new biological agents.


Roberto De Guzman

Roberto De Guzman

Professor
rdguzman@ku.edu

Research: Structural studies of protein-protein and protein-RNA interactions in bacterial and viral pathogenesis.

Susan Egan

Susan Egan

Professor, Chair, Department of Molecular Biosciences
sme@ku.edu
Office Phone: 785-864-4294
Research: Molecular mechanisms of bacterial transcription activation; AraC family proteins.

Christopher Fischer

Christopher Fischer

Professor, Associate Chair, Department of Physics and Astronomy, Director of Engineering Physics Program
shark@ku.edu
Office Phone: 785-864-4579
Research: Kinetics and the thermodynamics of protein-protein and protein-nucleic acid interactions.

Ryan Funk

Ryan Funk

Associate Professor and Associate Chair, Department of Pharmacy Practice
ryanfunk@kumc.edu
913-945-6904
Research:  Pediatrics, Clinical Pharmacology, Rheumatology

Robert Hanzlik

Robert Hanzlik

Professor
rhanzlik@ku.edu

Research: Medicinal Chemistry. Identification and proteomic analysis of target proteins in relation to cytotoxicity of chemically reactive metabolites. Mechanistic studies of cytochrome P450 family enzymes.

Leslie Heckert

Leslie Heckert

Professor, Marion M. Osborn Professor for Reproductive Sciences
lheckert@kumc.edu
913-588-7488
Research: Molecular mechanisms that regulate cellular differentiation and organ development of the reproductive system.

P. Scott Hefty

P. Scott Hefty

Professor
pshefty@ku.edu

Research: Mechanisms of developmental gene regulation and pathogenesis for Chlamydia.

Krzysztof Kuczera

Krzysztof Kuczera

Professor
kkuczera@ku.edu
Office Phone: 785-864-5060
Research: Methods of modern computational chemistry to study structure, dynamics and thermodynamics of complex molecular systems.

Erik Lundquist

Erik Lundquist

Professor, Associate Vice Chancellor for Research
erikl@ku.edu
Office Phone: 785-864-5853
Research: Molecular signaling events that underlie cellular morphogenesis.

Stuart Macdonald

Stuart Macdonald

Professor, Associate Chair, Department of Molecular Biosciences
sjmac@ku.edu
Office Phone: 785-864-5362
Research: Genetics of complex traits, Genome biology, Drosophila quantitative genetics.

Russ Middaugh

Russ Middaugh

Distinguished Professor
middaugh@ku.edu
Office Phone: 785-864-5813
Research: Stability of peptides, proteins, nucleic acids, macromolecular assemblies, virus like particles, viruses and bacteria that are of pharmaceutical interest

Bozenna Pasik-Duncan

Bozenna Pasik-Duncan

Professor
bozenna@ku.edu
Office Phone: 785-864-5162
Research: Stochastic adaptive control and Mathematics and Science education.

Christian Schoneich

Christian Schöneich

Takeru Higuchi Distinguished Professor of Pharmaceutical Chemistry, Dept. Chair - Pharmaceutical Chemistry
schoneic@ku.edu
Office Phone: 785-864-4880
Research: Oxidative post-translational modification of proteins in vitro and in vivo.

Peter Smith

Peter Smith

Senior Associate Vice Chancellor for Research, Senior Associate Dean for Research, School of Medicine, Wineinger Endowed Professor, Molecular and Integrative Physiology
psmith@kumc.edu

Research: Nerve regulation in a variety of systems including the cardiovascular system, eye, skin, and reproductive tract.

Barbara Timmermann

Barbara Timmermann

University Distinguished Professor, Department Chair - Medicinal Chemistry
btimmer@ku.edu
Office Phone: 785-864-4844
Research: Natural products at chemistry-biology interface.

Robert Unckless

Robert Unckless

Associate Professor
unckless@ku.edu
785-864-1679
Research: Evolutionary genetics and genomics of insect immune defense.

Cuncong Zhong

Cuncong Zhong

Assistant Professor
cczhong@ku.edu

Research:  Metagenomics, cancer genomics, non-coding RNA function and structures, machine learning, and algorithms and data structures